• Caring Hearts Admin

Finalists announced in annual Community Achievement Awards

By JIM MANIACI, Laughlin Nevada Times Jun 1, 2011

LAUGHLIN - Some of the judges had to sit out part of this year's determinations of the finalists, up to four in each of 13 categories, that have been announced for the 5 p.m., Saturday, June 11, twin chambers of commerce annual Community Achievement Awards, to be held in the Pavilion of the Tropicana Laughlin hotel-casino.

It's not an unusual situation for some of the nine-member panel to find themselves or their organizations have been nominated and to reach the finalists stage. This year's 14th annual event is co-produced for the third consecutive year by the joint efforts of the Laughlin and Bullhead Area chambers of commerce, with Mutual of Omaha Bank again as the premier sponsor.

The prestigious night is billboarded as the Tri-state area's only premier black-tie affair of its kind.

Judges, led by 2010 Citizen of the Year Lin Clark, spent hours going over the nominations, plus picking the winners of the three “spirit” awards (Arizona, Colorado River, Nevada) from the finalists.

An equal number of judges are selected from each side of the Colorado River. This year, they were (from Laughlin) Debbie Marcusson of the Cooperative Extension Service, Rosemary Munger of the Town Advisory Board and Laughlin Economic Development Corporation, Tony Inglese of Principal Financial Group and Living Water Outreach Ministry Pastor Doug Westly; (Bullhead City and suburbs) Laura Grasse, Brian Mirchoff, Kelly Burgess and Lisa (Herman) Maas.

The finalists :

Youth citizen - Terran Drescher (Laughlin) and Jonathan Moss, Alyssa Folston and Lauren Burgess (all Mohave); each, a high school junior or senior, will receive a $500 scholarship, with $1,000 more to the winner.

Tourism - Lloyd Shires, air charter program, Don Laughlin's Riverside Resort; Jason Duchene, air charter program, Harrahs Laughlin; Pawan Agrawal, AYSO Colorado River Invitational

Tournament; Roy and Virginia Honeycutt, Honeycutt Rodeo.

Educator - Valerie Mitchell, Fort Mohave Elementary School and Deborah Romero, William G. Bennett.

Educational program - Earth Saints Academy of Building Industries, Mohave High School girls soccer team, Bullhead Junior High School Kiwanis Builders Club.

Civic service - Kevin Barbarita, Laughlin Little League; Lisa (Herman) Maas, Kiwanis Club of Greater Laughlin and LHS Key Club; Karole Finkelstein, Colorado River Heritage Trail Association.

Public service - Robert Moon, Deputy Mohave County County Attorney; Brian Williamson, Bullhead City Deputy Chief of Police-Emergency Management Coordinator; Bullhead City Mayor Jack Hakim.

Humanitarian - Steven Brown, William Knowles, Brianna Lipinski, Marahi Flores and the Aquarius employees.

Community service organization - Bullhead City Rotary Club, Caring Hearts Food Ministry, Laughlin Metro Volunteers, American Legion Laughlin Post 60.

Social service organization - BHHS Legacy Foundation, Boys and Girls Clubs of the Colorado River, Southern Nevada Transit Coalition (Silver Rider), and Southwest Behavioral Health Services.

Business - Alarmtek, Aquarius Casino Resort, Laughlin-Bullhead International Airport and Southern Nevada Transit Coalition (Silver Rider).

Business expansion-retention - Cameron Broadcasting, PG Xpress Graphics, Regency Casino and Valley View Medical Center.

Green business - City of Bullhead City, Harrahs Laughlin and Sunquest Solar.

Citizen - Debbie Dauenhauer of Silver Rider, Nancy Mongeau of BHHS Legacy Foundation, Paul Walsh and William Kelly. This is the highest individual honor.

Get tickets for awards banquet now

The 2011 Community Achievement Awards tickets are $75 per person and may be purchased at either the Laughlin Chamber, 1585 S. Casino Drive, or the Bullhead Area Chamber, 1251 Arizona Highway 95. Call 702-298-2214 or 928-754-4121.

This will be the third consecutive year for the jointly sponsored event. Laughlin began the program in 1997. For a few years, Bullhead Area had an almost duplicate event. The chambers agreed to merge them beginning in 2009, eliminating duplicate efforts.


10 views0 comments